Boosting Tourism: Osun SSG Chairs Committee on Development of Owalla Dam and Erinle River Basin

Boosting Tourism: Osun SSG Chairs Committee on Development of Owalla Dam and Erinle River Basin

…as committee meets royal fathers of host communities…

Kingsley Omoyeni


As part of efforts to boost tourism and improve the Internally Generated Revenue of the State, arrangements are in top gear to develop the Owalla Dam and Erinle River basin.


The move is also in line with Governor Ademola Adeleke’s determination to develop local communities around the State through the tourism potentials available in the host communities.


To this end, the State Governor has constituted a 14 man committee headed by Secretary to the State Government, Hon. Teslim Igbalaye to see to the development of the Owalla Dam and Erinle water basin in ensuring that no community is sidelined or cheated.


The Committee at the State Secretariat met with royal fathers and other stakeholders in the host communities in an effort to see to the smooth take off and success of the project.


The SSG led committee met with the Oloba of Oba Oke, Oba Adam Iyiola Bakare, Oloba of Oba Ile, Oba (Dr,)Adekunle Asamu Opeyemi, Elende of Eko Ende, Oba Adekunle Waheed, Alie of Ilie, Oba Oladapo Siyanbola, Olufon of Ifon-Osun, Oba Peter Akinyooye and Olore of Ore, Oba Abdulrasheed Oyeyemi.


Speaking at the meeting, Hon. Teslim Igbalaye explained that the objective of the Committee is to ensure that Owalla Dam and Erinle River Basin becomes good avenue to generate money for the State as well as create job opportunities for youths.


He explained that, the meeting was called to seek for their cooperation, noting that through the development of the two sites, tourists will be visiting the State in their numbers, while fish farming in the area will receive a boost.


In their separate remarks, the royal fathers expressed their readiness to cooperate with the State government on the project with a collective declaration that development of Owalla Dam and Erinle River Basin is a dream come true for residents of the communities.


Other members of the committee include: Commissioner for Water Resources, Hon. Sunday Oroniyi and his counterpart from Culture and Tourism, Hon. Ojo Abiodun, Commissioner for Lands, Hon. George Ibitayo Alabi, Special Adviser on STOWASSA and OSWRC, Princess Oyeboade Oyewole Afolabi, SSA Creative Economy, Events and Entertainment, Hon. Tunde Laface, SSA on Culture, Hon. Iyiola Shefiu, SA on Tourism, Hon. Tope Anjorin and Chairman Water Corporation, Hon. Sam Oyedotun.


Other members of the committee are Chairman, Osun Tourism Board, Hon. Adeleke Taiwo, P.S, Water Resources, Engr. Olusola Ajao, P.S Lands, Dr Fritz Mobolaji Olaoye, G.M Water Corporation, Engr. D.F Jokotola, G.M Tourism Board, Mrs. Oluwatoyin Ajayi, Executive Secretary, OSWRC, Engr. Rafiu Lukmon and the Secretary of the Committee, the Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, Ministry of Works and Infrastructure, Engr. Olalekan Salami.

Related posts

Osun State Government, AMEN Foundation Flags-off Free Medical Surgery






Royal Father Lauds Osun NIESV, Charges Parents On Good Children Upbringing, To Avoid Shortcut


Enugu: Host Community protests against Nigerian Breweries


Abolade, Health Practitioner Commends Government On Ban Of Styrofoam